There are a range of designations offered through the Northern Territory Government (NTG). Designations are based on specific workplace agreements and may include the following:

  • Aboriginal Health Workers
  • Administrative Officers
  • Power and Water Corporation (formerly PAWA) employees
  • Assistant Teachers
  • Dentists
  • Enrolled Nurses
  • Senior Teachers
  • Firefighters
  • Marine Pilots employed by Darwin Port Corporation
  • Medical Officers
  • Nurses
  • Physical Grade employees
  • Prison Educators
  • Prison Officers
  • Professional Officers
  • Senior Prison Officers
  • Teachers
  • Technical employees

There are a range of levels within these agreements, which determine the designation, for example, Administrative Officer 1 (AO1).

Most jobs in the NTG are advertised with a remuneration ‘package’. That package incorporates annual salary + 9% employer superannuation contributions + 17.5% leave loading bonus + the value of two weeks extra recreation leave (noting most NTG jobs have six weeks recreation leave).

For example, Administrative Officer 1 (AO1) - Remuneration Package Range $46 077 to $50 012 (comprising salary $40 000 to $43 416, superannuation, leave loading and the value of two weeks extra recreation leave).

More information